Momentum Beleggings Aardklop Aubade in collaboration with  Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool presents: RAVEL: VIOLIN SONATA & PIANO TRIO
With Zanta Hofmeyr, Manfred Stilz & Megan-Geoffrey Prins.

In 1928 Maurice Ravel famously wrote: “Take Jazz Seriously! It is influencing our work. The Blues in my sonata, par example, is stylized jazz, more French than American in character perhaps, but nevertheless influenced strongly by your so-called ‘popular music.’” 

The chamber music of this great French composer defined the age of impressionism. There are no better examples of his creative and sensitive qualities than in his Violin Sonata and Piano Trio, which will be performed for Aardklop Aubade on 7 May by violinist Zanta Hofmeyr, cellist Manfred Stilz and pianist Megan-Geoffrey Prins. 


Sonata No. 2 for violin and piano – Maurice Ravel
    I. Allegretto                                                   
    II. Blues. Moderato 
    III. Perpetuum mobile. Allegro 

Sonata for cello and piano in D minor – Claude Debussy
    I. Prologue
    II. Sérénade
    III. Final

Piano Trio in A minor – Maurice Ravel
    I. Modéré
    II. Pantoum (Assez vif)
    III. Passacaille (Très large)
    IV. Final (Animé)

Opening act: Affie-student, Liam Edwards (grade 11) on the trumpet
Venue: Afrikaanse Hoër Seunskool, Pretoria
Date: Sunday, 7 May 2023
Time: 11h00
Duration: 75 minutes
Tickets: R190, R150 (pensioners) and R100 (students)

Tickets available at: www.ticketpros.co.za

Momentum Beleggings Aardklop Aubade is an established supporter and promoter of South African classical music. It is our objective to bring local musicians to our Pretoria audiences.

Scroll to Top